MARSHALL COUNTY, WEST VIRGINIA CONNIE HOWARD

MARSHALL COUNTY CLERK
PO BOX 459, MOUNDSVILLE WV 26041 www.marshallcountywv.gov
PHONE: 304 8451220 FAX: 304 845 5891 estates@marshallcountywv.gov

FORM MUST BE RETURNED PRIOR TO SCHEDULING AN APPOINTMENT

COUNTY OF DEATH:

If not Marshall County, then you must provide a Certificate of Death

DATE OF DEATH:

PROBATE WITHOUT WILL

Please complete this form and return it along with the required documents and photo ID. Thank you.

NAME OF ESTATE: (decedent)

DEATH CERTIFICATE REQUIRED - Social Security Number

Item 7B decedent’s place of residence at the time of death MARSHALL COUNTY

FIDUCIARY (person to be appointed):

Bring or attach your Driver’s License or State ID

ADDRESS:

PHONE:

RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT:

Appointment of personal representative to serve as Fiduciary of the estate.
The Fiduciary is called an Administrator/Administratrix if there is no Will for the decedent.
The appointment of the Fiduciary will normally be made 30 days after the date of death. Please
call and make an appointment with the Probate Clerk.

Consent — within the first 30 days from the date of death, the fiduciary will need to consent
from the heirs, either by personal appearance or in writing acknowledged before a Notary Public

such as a Declination to Serve (only within the first 30 days)

On the 31 day after the date of death, anyone (including creditors) can be appointed over the
estate.
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APPROX. VALUE OF ALL PERSONAL PROPERTY HELD SOLELY IN THE DECEDENT’S NAME
(EXCLUDING REAL ESTATE)

Asset

Total Value of probate assets determines the bond amount (excluding real estate)

TOTAL
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BOND & SURETY

Bond & Surety is a third party guarantee the Fiduciary will fulfill their obligations.
e The amount of the bond MUST cover all assets values in the decedent’s name solely,
excluding real estate.
e State law requires an appointed Fiduciary must be bonded if there is no Will or you are
not named as Executor/Executrix in the Will.

o No surety is required on the bond of the Fiduciary if they are the sole beneficiary of the
decedent.

There are 2 types of Surety:

1. Corporate Surety Bond is when an insurance company or bond person covers the amount of
the probate assets, excluding real estate. You should contact the bond person or agent prior
to the appointment as they must also be present at the time of the appointment. If the
person to be appointed is an out-of-state resident, the bond amount must be doubled.

NOTE: THRE IS A COST FOR CORPORATE SURETY AS IT IS THROUGH A BONDSMAN
AND/OR AN INSURANCE AGENT

2. Justification of Surety Bond is using real estate to cover the amount of the bond. This too is
a third party. A Fiduciary CANNOT use their own property.
e This person must be present at the time of the appointment.
e They must own real estate in West Virginia.
e If the person/surety does not own real estate in Marshall County, they must
provide a Justification of Surety from the West Virginia county where the real

estate is located. This may be obtained from the County Clerk of the county
where the property is located.

BOND & SURETY REQUIREMENTS

APPOINTED AS

__BOND REQUIRED BOND AMOUNT

_ SURETY REQUIRED __NO SURETY REQUIRED/WAIVED  __ SOLE HEIR

SURETY NAME & ADDRESS (UNDERWRITER)
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REAL ESTATE

IS THERE REAL ESTATE OR OIL & GAS PROPERTY? __ YES NO

PLEASE LIST EACH PROPERTY BY THE LEGAL DESCRIPTION (NOT THE ADDRESS)

THIS INCLUDES ALL OIL & GAS RIGHTS
LEGAL DESCRIPTIONS CAN BE FOUND ON TAX TICKETS FROM THE TAX OR ASSESSOR’S OFFICES

(304 845 1490)
PLEASES LIST EACH PROPERTY & VALUES

APPRAISED MARKET
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Listing of Heirs:

Names, relationship, and complete current mailing addresses for ALL heirs (required by WV State Law).

The Fiduciary must provide this information before the appointment date.

Bloodline heirs goes as follows:

Spouse — Only if there are no children born prior to the current marriage. If there are children born prior
to the current marriage, then list them first and then the spouse.

Children — Includes any children born prior to the current marriage. If there is a pre-deceased child, you
must show that child’s children with their complete current address. If there are legally adopted
children by the decedent or adopted by the decedent’s children, they too must be considered in
the bloodline.

If no Spouse or Children — List Mother and Father

If both Parents are Pre-Deceased — List the decedent’s siblings, including half-siblings or adopted
siblings. If any siblings are pre-deceased, you must list each child of that sibling.

No Siblings — List the mothers’ siblings, leading to living heirs, then list the father’s siblings leading to
living heirs.

The bloodline must ALWAYS lead to living heirs.

If there are more heirs, please list this information in the body of the email when submitting this form.

HEIRS:

Name Relationship ~ Address
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FEES:

A $300.00 Deposit is required at the time of ALL appointments to cover costs of a Fiduciary
Commissioner if referred during the probate. The deposit will be refunded AFTER the settlement is
approved if there is no referral. THIS DEPOSIT IS SEPARATE AND MUST BE CASH, CHECK OR MONEY
ORDER.

The appointment fee is usually under $50.00 plus the cost of postage to each heir not present at the
time of the appointment.

FORM MUST BE COMPLETED PRIOR TO SCHEDULING APPOINTMENT

After completing this form, download it using the decedent’s last name, followed by a dash,
and then the decedent’s first name as the file name.
Example: Smith_John.pdf.

Email the completed form to estates@marshallcountywv.gov

Call to schedule your appointment.

Thank you
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